– A Book of Revenge and Redemption

‘Those who plot the destruction of others often fall themselves.’

‘Revenge is an act of passion; vengeance of justice. Injuries are revenged; crimes are avenged.’

‘Forgiveness is a gift you give yourself.’

‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth makes the whole world blind and toothless.’


What is Double Cross about?

Double Cross in the 4th in the Noughts and Crosses series. The book came about as a reaction to the gang violence which suddenly seems to have escalated in Britain over the last few years. The more I thought about Tobey Durbridge and his life, the more I realised I hadn’t quite left the world of Noughts and Crosses behind.

What made you write another in the Noughts and Crosses series?

I wanted to tackle the theme of teenage gang violence and society’s attitude to it. I also wanted to tackle the theme of drugs and the consequences of dealing and taking hard drugs but not in a preachy of moralistic way. I like to show the world through the eyes and lives of my characters, not through my own eyes.

How did you come up with the title?

Double Cross seemed an appropriate title as it describes what Tobey sets out to do, which is double cross both the Nought organised crime leader Alex McAuley and the Cross organised crime family, the Dowds. But in the end, Tobey ends up double-crossing himself.

Was it hard to get back to the world of Noughts and Crosses after taking a break to write something else when Checkmate was finished?

Nope. It was like stepping into a pair of very comfy, familiar slippers!

Was Tobey based on anyone you know?

No. All my characters are entirely made-up.

Do you think Tobey was justified in his actions?

Is revenge ever justified?

Will Double Cross be the last in the series?

If I get another idea set in the Noughts and Crosses world that won’t leave me alone and shouts to be written then no, Double Cross won’t be the last in the series.

When and where is Double Cross set?

Here and now.

Do you count An Eye For An Eye as one of the Noughts and Crosses series? Are there now four books in the series of five?

Strictly speaking, An Eye For An Eye was a novella rather than a novel and now that it’s included at the end of the new edition of Noughts and Crosses, I’d say there are four novels in the series – Noughts and Crosses, Knife Edge, Checkmate and Double Cross.